The Australian Optical Society 

This Prize is open to AOS student members whose Honours, Masters or PhD research work has been accepted for publication in a refereed journal in the past year. The Prize may only be awarded once to any individual.

A submission consists of a 300-word summary of the published research, written in the style of a New Scientist article or similar, explaining the significance of the applicant’s research project to a casual reader outside the field. The submission may include up to 2 figures which may be in colour or black and white, and should also include a copy of the published research paper(s) with evidence that it is accepted for publication. Applicants should provide a short statement explaining their contribution to the published paper, signed by the applicant and her/his supervisor.

Applicants must agree that their submissions may be published in AOS News at the discretion of the AOS News Editor, and/or placed on the AOS Website, with author and institution attribution.

Prize is judged by a committee appointed by the AOS council, which includes a representative of Warsash.

Criteria for the award of the Prize are:

  • High quality research in optics or its applications
  • Clarity of explanation
  • Suitability of the figures to the overall summary
  • Ability to seize and sustain the reader's interest
  • The student's research has been accepted for publication in a refereed journal

The $500 Prize is sponsored by Warsash Scientific Pty Ltd.

Previous winners of the Warsash Science Communication Prize in Optics are:

    • 2017 Ms Litty Thekkekara - RMIT University
    • 2016 Ms Katie Chong - Australian National University & Mr Xiaorui Zheng - Swinburne University
    • 2013 Matt Collins - University of Sydney
    • 2010 Elaine Miles - University of Melbourne
    • 2005 Vijan Sivan - RMIT University

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software