The Australian Optical Society 

Australian Optical Society Awards

AOS Awards 

The Australian Optical Society is pleased to announce the winners of the 2016 AOS prizes.

AOS Awards Winners

AOS W.H. (Beattie) Steel Medal
Prof Tony Klein, Emeritus Professor, School of Physics, University of Melbourne

For his strong and sustained record of authority and innovation in the field of optics in Australia or New Zealand. His achievements include:
- pioneer of neutron optics
- Internationally  recognised and highly cited work on Fresnel diffraction and interferometry of slow neutrons,
- Together with Geoff Opat he was responsible for the development of optics at University of Melbourne
- Actively involved in AOS
- Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science
- Member of Order of Australia (AM) (1999)


The AOS Geoff Opat Early Career Researchers Prize
Dr Andrea Redondo-Blanco, University of Sydney

AOS Postgraduate Student Prize
Mr Dhruv Saxena, Australian National University

AOS Technical Optics Award
Dr Nicolas Riesen, Modular Photonics, Macquarie University & University of Adelaide

AOS Warsash Science Communication Prize in Optics (two awards)
Ms Katie Chong, Australian National University
Mr Xiaorui Zheng, Swinburne University

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software